lokkangel's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

September 11th, 2001

On the news, it was called Black Tuesday. A plane crashing into 1 WTC. People leaping to their death to avoid burning alive. A second crash into 2 WTC. More people jumping and those who make it to the ground are running away. Less than an hour later, the buildings collapse to the ground, injuring thousands, killing possibly 5000.

It is the most horrific terrorist attack on America as we know it. Never have we seen a disaster such as this on American soil, with the same magnitude. Innocent people died for a terrible reason and those who caused this celebrated as they cheered the WTC demise.

Let us not forget those who have died here. We need to honour them, not because they may have been famous, or rich, or powerful. We need to honour them because they were our family, our friends, our fellow Americans.

Also, we need to remember those who died at the Pentagon, a lesser extent of death, but a part of this national tragedy. The personnel who died not in a fair combat as they were trained and ready to do, but attacked from behind in a cowardly fashion. Many of the men and women were willing to give their lives up for a free nation, to fight for our way of life. In a way, they already have.

I am not here to cash into a tragedy like this. My reasoning for creating this ring are simple: On Tuesday, as I was getting off from work, I stopped at a Subway for dinner as I was not caring to cook. A guy older than myself was working their and the radio they were listening to was interrupted by the President's speech. He looked towards his friends and told them to shut it off, as this did not affect him. I just stared at him. When he looked my way, he said that although he feels sorry for New York, he lives in Arizona and we're safe here.

Maybe we are. Maybe we'll never know the true devistation that New York has felt. But it's not just New York. They attacked our country, my country, my home. I take that very personally.

That is my hope with this ring. I just want everyone to remember what it is like to be an American, to have our liberties, our freedom, the right to do just about whatever we want. I want you to remember those who died to get us here, those who died not knowing that they would be changing the course of history. I want to remember.

~Lokkangel~

8:50 a.m. - 09.18.01

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

iota
leftout
roxytites
ripe
hyonmi
bluecarebear